Bark-Skins

Proulx, Annie

| 2015

Flag from en

2


Now a television mini-series airing on National Geographic May 2020 A Washington Post Best Book of the Year & a New York Times Notable Book From the Pulitzer Prize---winning author of The Shipping News and "Brokeback Mountain," comes the New York Times bestselling epic about the demise of the world's forests: "Barkskins is grand entertainment in the tradition of Dickens and Tolstoy...the crowning achievement of Annie Proulx's distinguished career, but also perhaps the greatest environmental novel ever written" (San Francisco Chronicle). In the late seventeenth century two penniless young Frenchmen, Ren Sel and Charles Duquet, arrive in New France. Bound to a feudal lord, a "seigneur," for three years in exchange for land, they become wood-cutters--barkskins. Ren suffers extraordinary hardship, oppressed by the forest he is charged with clearing....

Visa mer

Skapa konto fr att stta betyg och recensera bcker

Recensioner

Zack Simone

2017-09-02

Betyg

Nter verkligen in budskapet om mnniskans oundvikliga destruktiva kraft att pverka jorden och den starkare underlgsna men viktigaste kreativt etiska kraften hos oss. Historiskt, realistiskt och vackert. Fick mig att vilja leva ett nytt liv, fr trdens skull. Trollbunden och grtfrdig.